Helsinki Conference 2012

From digitization to access and research
BAAC Annual Conference 2012
Conference Programme 2012 (PDF)

BAAC annual conference 2012 report

 Conference Announcement

Baltic Audiovisual Archival Council
Annual Conference 2012

"From digitization to access and research"

The BAAC annual conference will be held this year in Helsinki, Finland, October 3 - 5, 2012.

The conference will be hosted by the Finnish National Audiovisual Archive (KAVA), Finnish Broadcasting Company (YLE), the Finnish Jazz and Pop Archive (JAPA) and the Finnish Institute of Recorded Sound.

Baltic Audiovisual Archival Council (BAAC) is an independent nonprofit organization with a goal to foster cooperation between public and private archives, broadcasting and TV archives, libraries and museums that hold collections of audiovisual materials. BAAC has organised seminars and conferences since 2004. The main focus has been in the Baltic States, but the organisation also has members in the Nordic Countries and the Baltic Diaspora. The 2012 conference, the first to be held outside the Baltic States, will have the additional goals of informing Baltic archivists about Finnish audiovisual archives and giving Finnish archivists a chance  to become acquainted with Baltic colleagues.

The theme of the conference is "From digitization to access and research". The following topics will be discussed at the conference:

-          Access and academic research
-          Copyright issues in audiovisual archiving
-          Engagement of the users: crowd sourcing and other possibilities
-          Digitization projects and preservation
-          Re-use of archival materials

In addition, there will be presentations and visits to Finnish audiovisual archives. Many Finnish archives have ambitious digitization programs, and KAVA already provides researchers online access to all national radio and television programs aired since 2010.

Program committee

Pekka Gronow
Zane Grosa
Juozas Markauskas
Maarja Savan

Conference organizers

Mervi Herranen (KAVA)
Pekka Gronow (Finnish Institute of Recorded Sound)
Janne Mäkelä (JAPA)  
Katri Vanttinen (YLE)