The Latvian Radio (Latvijas Radio)

Latvijas Radio (LR) is Latvia’s national public-service radio broadcasting network. It began broadcasting in 1 November 1925. Latvian Radio (Latvijas Radio) broadcasts six different channels in the FM band as well as via the internet: Latvijas Radio 1Latvijas Radio 2, Latvijas Radio 3 Klasika, Latvijas Radio 4 Doma laukums, Latvijas Radio 5, and Latvijas Radio 6 – Radio NABA.

The Latvian Radio is a national cultural institution, fostering radio drama and organizing children’s vocal group. The Sound Archive contain approximately 700,000 sound recordings.

The Latvian Radio became a member of the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) on 1 January 1993.[

Since 2013 it has collaborated with Latvijas Televīzija (Latvian Television) as part of the Public Broadcasting of Latvia (LatvianLatvijas sabiedriskais medijs – LSM) news platform and online streaming service.

The tour will include importants points around the Latvian Radio building, with special emphasis on the Sound Archive. Approximate duration: 1 hour.